Features vs Marketing?

With the remains of this week, I’m going to:

  • get a bunch of new blog posts queued up for our site
  • do sketches for an easier time tracking interface

I believe this new interface, called Focus, will massively increase success during trials and retention over the long term

Why am I working on features rather than inbound marketing? Isn’t that exactly what I warn people about? Marketing 90%, product 10%?

Yes and no.

Because there’s a hole in our funnel, dear Liza, dear Liza. If we don’t increase customer success during trials… there’s no point in feeding our funnel a bunch more traffic, only to have potential customers leak out and spill onto the ground. Well, that came out weird. But you know what I mean.

If your ship is sinking, yes, you must bail water. But if it’s sinking because of a hole you can patch… you need to fix that shit ASAP, as soon as the imminent danger is over.

It’s not about perfection. I’m not redoing the whole app or every source of friction or disappointment for our customers. I’m working on the first interface they interact with, and the thing they do the most.

Just like when we shipped the first version of Noko (then called Freckle).

I focused on time entry above all else.

And that’s what I’m doing with Focus.

The faster we can create success for a trial, the more likely they are to become a customer. And the more we can create success for an existing customer, the more likely they are to stay.

Amy Hoy @amyhoy